Brussels Programme

13th December 2022

U-Residence at Vrije University, Etterbeek, Brussels, Belgium

please note that the programme may be subject to change at short notice

* denotes presenting author      † denotes virtual presenter

08:30 Brussels Time

Room: Lobby

Arrival and refreshments

More Information
 

08:00 UTC

09:00 Brussels Time

16:00 Hong Kong Time

00:00 Seattle Time

Room: Green

Welcome remarks – Dr Francesco Mureddu, Regional Chair

More Information
 

08:20 UTC

09:20 Brussels Time

16:20 Hong Kong Time

00:20 Seattle Time

Room: Green

09:20 – 10:05

A series of ignition talks curated by Francesco Mureddu (Regional Chair)

Chair: Dr Rob Heyman (imec-SMIT-VUB)

 

More Information
 

Grace Milne (Project Manager and Research Associate at The Lisbon Council) Satellite Open Data for Smart City Services Development

 

Alessandro Paciaroni (Project Manager and Research Associate at The Lisbon Council) Green responsible privacy preservIng data operations along across the edge-core-cloud continuum

Nathan Carvalho (Project Manager at The Lisbon Council) User-centricity, interoperability and citizens’ data sovereignty: the foundations of cross-border digital public services

Danny Vandenbroucke (Research Manager at SADL/KU Leuven R&D) Urban Data Space for Green Deal

Karim Hamza (Senior Associate Researcher at Vrije Universiteit Brussel) Data for Africa

09:05 UTC

10:05 Brussels Time

5 minutes room changeover time

More Information
 

09:10 UTC

10:10 Brussels Time

17:10 Hong Kong Time

01:10 Seattle Time

Room: Green

10:10 – 10:55

Parallel Session 1A

Standard Track 1a Data-driven Transformations in Policy and Governance’ (panel)

Chair: Joep Crompvoets (KU Leuven)

More Information
 

[4538] ‘Data usage improving public policies and policymaking’

Welcome & Challenges presentation – Zach Smith (Trust-IT, Policy Cloud)

Project Presentations:

AI4PublicPolicy – John Soldatos (TECNE)

DECIDO – Antonio Filograna (ENG)

IntelComp – Cecilia Cabello (FECYT)

Policy Cloud – Panayiotis Michael (ICCS)

  • Discussion on the challenges – Zach Smith and panellists
  • Q&A
  • Wrap-up – Zach Smith

09:10 UTC

10:10 Brussels Time

17:10 Hong Kong Time

01:10 Seattle Time

Room: Red

10:10 – 10:55

Parallel Session 1B

Special Track ‘The future of Border and external security: From Data to Policies

Chair: Francesco Leoni (Politecnico di Milano)

More Information
 

[3679] Pekka Koskela, Jori Paananen, Anni Karinsalo and Laura Salmela*† (VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd). Enhancing Border Checks with Blockchain towards Self-Sovereign Identity.

[8235] Georgia Gkioka and Gregoris Mentzas (Information Management Unit, ICCS, National Technical University of Athens). Data Analytics for Technology Acceptance Monitoring of SBC Technologies

[9820] Sara Domingo Andres* and Zachary Goldberg (Trilateral Research). New Technologies for Border Control: Opportunities and Regulatory Challenges.

09:55 UTC

10:55 Brussels Time

Room: Polyvalent

10:55 – 11:15  Short break and refreshments

More Information
 

10:10 UTC

11:10 Brussels Time

18:10 Hong Kong Time

02:10 Seattle Time

Room: Green

11:10 – 11:55

Plenary panel – Use of high value datasets for policy making

Chair: Emanuele Baldacci (European Commission)

More Information
 

Use of high value datasets for policy making

The EU data strategy aims to establish a sustainable framework  for the  reuse of data to support the development of the single market. Its ultimate goal is to generate economic value and wellbeing. Better access to public sector data is a critical cornerstone of this strategy. This session will focus on recent developments in the EU legal framework to accelerate the reuse of public sector data for evidence-based policy making and the challenges ahead

Chair: Dr Emanuele Baldacci (Director of Resources and CIO, Eurostat, European Commission)

Panellists:

Professor Jean Claude Burgelman (Professor and Academic Coordinator of Open Science Policy, Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

Professor Joep Crompvoets (Public Governance Insitute, KU Leuven)

Professor Jon Crowcroft (Marconi Professor of Communication Systems, University of Cambridge and The Alan Turing Institute)

10:55 UTC

11:55 Brussels Time

5 minutes room changeover time

More Information
 

11:00 UTC

12:00 Brussels Time

19:00 Hong Kong Time

03:00 Seattle Time

Room: Green

12:00 – 12:45

Parallel Session 2A

Standard Track ’(Big) Data for Public Value Creation’

Chair: John Soldatos (Netcompany-Intrasoft)

More Information
 

[1000] Maria Claudia Bonino* and Athena Vassilopoulos (BDTI, European Commission) Enabling a data-driven public sector: from hype to action using the Big Data Test Infrastructure (BDTI)

[2505] Gaby Umbach* (European University Institute). Statistical and Data Literacy in Policy-Making.

[6120] Francesco Leoni* (Politecnico di Milano). What makes the “data for policy” discourse different? Analysing themes and topics of the data for policy field.

11:00 UTC

12:00 Brussels Time

19:00 Hong Kong Time

03:00 Seattle Time

Room: Red

12:00 – 13:00

Special Track Workshop

 

 

More Information
 

[3290] Suha Mohamed* and Vinay Narayan* (Aapti Institute)Exploring the possibilities for citizen-generated data and governance models to shape sustainable cities and communities’

11:45 UTC

12:45 Brussels Time

Room: Polyvalent

12:45 – 13:45

Long break – lunch and networking

More Information
 

12:45 UTC

13:45 Brussels Time

20:45 Hong Kong Time

04:45 Seattle Time

Room: Green

13:45 – 14:30

Keynote Lecture

Gianluca Misuraca  (Executive Director AI4GOV – Universidad Politécnica de Madrid) AI for delivering government services

Chair: Emanuele Baldacci (European Commission)

More Information
 

 

 

13:30 UTC

14:30 Brussels Time

5 minutes room changeover time

More Information
 

13:35 UTC

14:35 Brussels Time

21:35 Hong Kong Time

05:35 Seattle Time

Room: Green

14:35 – 15:20

Parallel Session 3A

Standard Track 2 ‘Data Technologies and Analytics for Policy and Governance’

Chair: Francesco Mureddu (Lisbon Council)

More Information
 

[2292] Maedeh Nasri*, Sarah Giest, Yung-Ting Tsou, Mitra Baratchi (Leiden University), Alexander Koutamanis (Delft University of Technology) and Carolien Rieffe (Leiden University). Role of movement data in creating inclusive school settings for students.

[5409] Yulu Pi* (University of Warwick) and Cagatay Turkay (University of Warwick). A Multidisciplinary Literature Review and Framework For AI-Assisted Policymaking

[8550] John Soldatos*, Thanasis Papadakis, Ioannis Christou, Charalambos Ipektsidis (Netcompany-Intrasoft) and Alessandro Amicone (GFT Italia). AI Solutions for Transparent, Explainable and Regulatory Compliant Public Policy Development.

[8834] Alex Ingrams*, Sarah Giest (Leiden University), Pradeep Murukannaiah (Delft University) and Luciano Cavalcante Siebert (Leiden University). The effects of moral framing on crowdsourced comments: The case of regulations.gov

13:35 UTC

14:35 Brussels Time

21:35 Hong Kong Time

05:35 Seattle Time

Room: Red

14:35 – 15:20

Parallel Session 3B

Standard Track ‘Participatory data collection’

Chair: Jon Crowcroft (University of Cambridge)

More Information
 

[727] Soujanya Sridharan* and Shefali Girish (Aapti Institute). Data stewards in service of Artificial Intelligence: Reimagining AI futures towards a participatory paradigm for technological innovation.

[4660] Shradhanjali Sarma (Dunzo Digital Private Limited), Utkarsh Kumar* (Techpolicy Deck Foundation), Sharanya Mukherjee (Techpolicy Deck Foundation) and Shatakshi Shekhar (Techpolicy Deck Foundation). Content Moderation and Freedom of Expression on Social Media.

[5100] Kwawdo Oti-Sarpong* (University of Cambridge), Viviana Angeley Bastidas Melo (University of Cambridge), Jennifer Schooling (University of Cambridge), Li Wan (University of Cambridge), Timea Nochta (University of Birmingham) and Junqing Tang (Peking University). Digital Innovation in the Urban Built Environment: A Competency Framework for City Managers.

[7081] Morine Amutorine* (Data Science Africa). Increasing data sharing for social good: Lessons from Africa’s COVID-19 response.

14:20 UTC

15:20 Brussels Time

Room: Polyvalent

15:20 – 15:35  Short break

More Information
 

14:35 UTC

15:35 Brussels Time

23:35 Hong Kong Time

07:35 Seattle Time

Room: Green

15:35 – 16:20

Parallel Session 4B

Standard Track Regulatory frameworks and oversight for data sharing

Chair: Stefaan Verhulst (GovLab, NYU)

More Information
 

[5807] Tom van der Sleen* (Utrecht University). Voluntary business-to-government data sharing for advancing SDGs: exploring actor alignment to create mutual benefits.

[8194] Renan Gadoni Canaan* (Centre for Law, Technology and Society, University of Ottawa). Stimulating innovation through data protection regulations: a TWAIL-based de-colonizing critique of the inequity of opportunities for domestic firms arising from replicating EU’s GDPR into the Brazilian General Data Protection Law.

[7263] Marika Arena, Giovanni Azzone, Laura Dell’Agostino* and Giulia Piantoni (Politecnico di Milano). How to measure the innovation ecosystems’ shared value? A balanced approach.

[7549] Phil Godsiff (INDEX, University of Exeter Business School) and Steve Brewer (University of Lincoln). Using a data sharing framework for regulatory oversight.

14:35 UTC

15:35 Brussels Time

23:35 Hong Kong Time

07:35 Seattle Time

Room: Red

15:35 – 16:20

Parallel Session 4B

Special Track Public data for private gain or public benefit? Debating the use of public sector data by private actors’  

Chairs: Lucille Tetley-Brown† (University of Glasgow), Angela Daly† (Dundee University) and Rob Heyman (VUB)

More Information
 

[118] Amrita Nanda (Aapti Institute) and Vinay Narayan* (Aapti Institute). Data stewardship for responsible sharing of public data – an analysis of stewardship models for better urban governance

[3438] Lucille Tetley-Brown† (University of Glasgow), Angela Daly† (University of Dundee), Esperanza Miyake† (University of Strathclyde) and Annie Sorbie† (University of Edinburgh). Unlocking public value from personal data? Brokering citizen-centred data-use spaces for the private sector – the Scottish Example.

[4320] Teresa Scassa*† (University of Ottawa). Public Sector Use of Private Sector Personal Data: Towards Best Practices

[4371] Jess Reia* (School of Data Science, University of Virginia). Data for the Night: Digital Rights, Trust, and Responsible Engagement with Data in 24-Hour Cities.

15:20 UTC

16:20 Brussels Time

5 minutes room changeover time

More Information
 

15:25 UTC

16:25 Brussels Time

23:25 Hong Kong Time

07:25 Seattle Time

Room: Green

16:25 – 17:15

Closing Plenary Panel – Future avenues in Data for Policy

Chair: Zeynep Engin (Founder and CEO, Data for Policy and the Alan Turing Institute)

More Information
 

Chair: Zeynep Engin (Founder and CEO, Data for Policy and the Alan Turing Institute)

Panellists:

Francesco Mureddu (Senior Director, The Lisbon Council)

Barbara Ubaldi (Acting Head of the Division on Open and Innovative Governments, OECD Public Governance Directorate)

Stefaan Verhulst (Co-Founder and Chief Research and Development Officer, GovLab)

16:15 UTC

17:15 Brussels Time

Room: Polyvalent

17:15 – 18:45

Networking reception

More Information
 
0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop