Seattle Programme

8th – 9th December 2022

8 December Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Seattle Campus

9 DECEMBER CHANGE OF VENUE

Parrington Hall at the University of Washington

please note that the programme may be subject to change at short notice

Seattle Programme – Day One

8th December 2022

21:00 UTC

22:00 Brussels Time

05:00 (9th) Hong Kong Time

13:00 Seattle Time

13:00 – 13:15

Opening remarks

More Information
 

Opening welcome and overview of panels

Ashley Farley, Associated Officer, Knowledge and Research Systems, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

21:15 UTC

22:15 Brussels Time

05:15 (9th) Hong Kong Time

13:15 Seattle Time

13:15 – 14:15 Panel

Theme 1: Open Data: Privacy, Ownership and Trust

Moderators: Shaida Badiee (Managing Director and Co-founder, Open Watch Inc.), and Stanley Wood (Senior Program Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

More Information
 

Panellists:

Natalia Carfi (Executive Director, Open Data Charter)

Aaron Franks (Senior Research Manager, OCAP® and Information Governance, First Nations Information Governance Centre)

Jennifer Hansen (Director, Open Data Policy and Strategy, Microsoft)

Juan Daniel Oviedo† (Universidad del Rosario of Bogotá and former Chief Statistician of Colombia)

Ben Pierson (Deputy Director, Enterprise Data, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

22:15 UTC

23:15 Brussels Time

06:15 (9th) Hong Kong Time

14:15 Seattle Time

14:15 – 14:45

Short break

More Information
 

22:45 UTC

23:45 Brussels Time

06:45 (9th) Hong Kong Time

14:45 Seattle Time

14:45 – 15:45 Panel

Theme 2: The Politics of Data

Moderators: Shaida Badiee (Managing Director and Co-founder, Open Watch Inc.), and Stanley Wood (Senior Program Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

More Information
 

Panellists:

Jake Effoduh (Chief Councillor, Vanier Scholar, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, Canada)

Vin Gupta (Affiliate faculty, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, UW Medicine; Chief Medical Officer, New Health Products, Amazon; NBC News Medical Analyst)

Francesca Perucci† (Assistant Director, UN Statistics Division)

Steve Kern (Interim CEO, Global Health Labs and Special Project Lead, Gates Ventures)

Victor Zamora† (Former Health Minister, Peru)

23:45 UTC

00:45 (9th) Brussels Time

07:45 (9th) Hong Kong Time

15:45 Seattle Time

15:45 – 16:15

Short break

More Information
 

12:15 (9th) UTC

01:15 (9th) Brussels Time

08:15 (9th) Hong Kong Time

16:15 Seattle Time

16:15 – 17:15 Panel

Theme 3: Ethics & Efficacy of Modelling and Machine Learning

Moderators: Shaida Badiee (Managing Director and Co-founder, Open Watch Inc.), and Stanley Wood (Senior Program Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

More Information
 

Panellists:

Aylin Caliskan (Assistant Professor, Information Science and Computer Science & Engineering, University of Washington)

Rahul Dodhia (Deputy Director, Microsoft AI for Good Research Lab)

Zeynep Engin (Founder Data for Policy and the Alan Turing Institute)

Neil Hausmann (Senior Program Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

Jude Kong (Director of Africa-Canada Artificial Intelligence and Data Innovation Consortium and Professor, York University)

Jamie Morgenstern (Assistant Professor, Computer Science & Engineering, University of Washington)

01:15 (9th) UTC

02:15 (9th) Brussels Time

09:15 (9th) Hong Kong Time

17:15 Seattle Time

17:15 – 17:30 Closing Remarks

Ashley Farley (Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

More Information
 

Ashley Farley, Associated Officer, Knowledge and Research Systems, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

01:30 (9th) UTC

02:30 (9th) Brussels Time

09:30 (9th) Hong Kong Time

17:30 Seattle Time

17:30 – 18:30

Networking reception

More Information
 

Seattle Programme – Day Two

9th December 2022

09:30 Seattle Time

09:30 – 10:00 Arrival and refreshments

More Information
 

18:00 UTC

19:00 Brussels Time

02:00 (10th) Hong Kong Time

10:00 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 360

09:50 – 10:10

Welcome, Land Acknowledgement and Opening Remarks

 

More Information
 

Welcome and Land Acknowledgment: Leigh Anderson (Marc Lindenberg Professor of Humanitarian Relief, International Development & Global Citizenship, University of Washington)

The University of Washington acknowledges the Coast Salish peoples of this land, the land which touches the shared waters of all tribes and bands within the Duwamish, Puyallup, Suquamish, Tulalip and Muckleshoot nations.

Opening Remarks

Greg Wong (Deputy Mayor of Seattle) and Jodi Sandfort † (Dean, Evans School of Public Policy and Governance, University of Washington)

01:25 UTC

02:25 Brussels Time

09:25(10th) Hong Kong Time

17:25 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 360

17:25 – 17:30

Closing remarks – Stefaan Verhulst (The GovLab, NYU)

 

More Information
 

Welcome and Land Acknowledgment: Leigh Anderson (Marc Lindenberg Professor of Humanitarian Relief, International Development & Global Citizenship, University of Washington)

The University of Washington acknowledges the Coast Salish peoples of this land, the land which touches the shared waters of all tribes and bands within the Duwamish, Puyallup, Suquamish, Tulalip and Muckleshoot nations.

Opening Remarks

Greg Wong (Deputy Mayor of Seattle) and Jodi Sandfort † (Dean, Evans School of Public Policy and Governance, University of Washington)

18:10 UTC

19:10 Brussels Time

02:10 (10th) Hong Kong Time

10:10 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 360

10:10 – 11:00

Plenary Panel: ‘Local Data’

More Information
 

Moderator:

Leah Tivoli (Director of Innovation & Performance, City of Seattle)

Panellists:

Natalia Carfi (Executive Director, Open Data Charter, Buenos Aires)

Eva Westley (Associate Director for Research, Washington State Institute for Public Policy)

Greg Wong (Deputy Mayor, Seattle)

19:00 UTC

20:00 Brussels Time

03:00 (10th) Hong Kong Time

11:00 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 360

11:00 – 11:45

Session 1: ‘Data and Methods to Inform Covid Lessons’

Moderator: Stefaan Verhulst (The GovLab, NYU)

More Information
 

[7473] Wilson Wong* (The Chinese University of Hong Kong), Charles Hinnant* (Florida State University), Lin Zhu* (National University of Singapore) and Alfred Wu* (National University of Singapore). Trust-Enabled Data Technology in Smart City:  Comparing the COVID-19 Contact Tracing App of Hong Kong and Singapore.

[3573] Nicholas Biddle* (Australian National University). Explaining Australia’s COVID-19 Vaccine Success, and Ongoing Challenges, Using Survey and Linked Administrative Data.

[7582] Zahra Movahedi Nia* (York University), Ali Asgary (York University), Nicola Bragazzi (York University), Bruce Mellado (University of Witwatersrand), James Orbinski (York University), Jianhong Wu (York University) and Jude Kong (York University). Tracing Unemployment Rate of South Africa during the COVID-19 Pandemic Using Twitter Data.

[5066] Vahid Shamsaddini (Sharif University of Technology), Mandy Chen (University of Washington), Fiona Victoria Stanley Jothiraj* (University of Washington) and Afra Mashhadi (University of Washington). Empirical Dynamic Modelling of the Multi-Source Park Visitation Data

19:45 UTC

20:45 Brussels Time

03:45 (10th) Hong Kong Time

11:45 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 320

11:45 – 12:00 Short break and refreshments

More Information
 

20:00 UTC

21:00 Brussels Time

04:00 (10th) Hong Kong Time

12:00 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 360

12:00 – 12:50

Keynote Lecture

More Information
 

Chair: Ashley Farley (Associate Officer, Knowledge & Research Services, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

Professor Carl Bergstrom (University of Washington)

Social media, Collective Decision-making, and the Stewardship of Global Information Flows

20:50 UTC

21:50 Brussels Time

04:50 (10th) Hong Kong Time

12:50 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 320

12:50 – 13:50 Long break – lunch and networking

Data for Policy Inclusion Initiative – Diasmer Panna Bloe (Researcher, Data for Policy)

More Information
 

21:50 UTC

22:50 Brussels Time

05:50 (10th) Hong Kong Time

13:50 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 360

13:50 – 14:40

Plenary Panel: Indigenous Data

More Information
 

Panel Moderator: Laura Evans (Evans School of Public Policy and Governance,University of Washington)

Panellists:

Miranda Belarde-Lewis (Assistant Professor, UW Information School)

Aaron Franks (Senior Research Manager, OCAP® and Information Governance, First Nations Information Governance Centre, Ottawa)

Oscar Figueroa Rodriguez† (Associate Professor, Rural Development Studies Program, COLPOS, Mexico)

Kayla Lar-Son (Indigenous Programs and Services Librarian, University of British Columbia)

22:40 UTC

23:40 Brussels Time

06:40 (10th) Hong Kong Time

14:40 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 360

14:40 – 15:30

Session 2: Standard Track 2 ‘Data Technologies and Analytics for Policy and Governance’ Panel

[3891] Towards an Inclusive Data Governance Policy for the use of AI in Africa

Chair/Moderator: Chaitali SInha (International Development Research Centre, Canada

Respondent: Rahul Dodhia (Deputy Director, AI for Good Research Lab, Microsoft)

 

More Information
 

[3891] Jude Kong* (York University), Ugochukwu Akpudo† (Griffith University QLD Australia), Jake Okechukwu Effoduh, and Nicola Luigi Bragazzi (York University) “Leveraging ‘Responsible, Explainable, and Local Artificial Intelligence Solutions for Clinical Public Health in the Global South’ (REL-AI4GS): Implications for Policies and Lessons Learned from the ‘Africa-Canada Artificial Intelligence and Data Innovation Consortium’ (ACADIC) project”

[3891] Jake Okechukwu Effoduh* (York University), Ugochukwu Ejike Akpudo† (Griffith University QLD Australia) and Jude Kong (York University) “Designing Data Governance Policies for the Inclusive use of Artificial Intelligence in Africa”

[3891] Ugochukwu Akpudo*† (Griffith University QLD Australia), Jake Okechukwu Effoduh and Jude Kong (York University) “AI and vulnerabilities in sub-Saharan Africa: The need for trustworthiness, reliability and equitable access”

23:35 UTC

00:35 (10th) Brussels Time

07:35 (10th) Hong Kong Time

15:35 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 320

15:30 – 15:45 Short break and refreshments

More Information
 

23:45 UTC

00:45 (10th) Brussels Time

07:45 (10th) Hong Kong Time

15:45 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 360

15:45 – 16:35

Session 3: ‘Citizen Data and Data Governance’

Moderator: Ashley Farley (Associate Officer, Knowledge & Research Services, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

More Information
 

[8028] Valeria Maria Urbano* (Politecnico di Milano), Federico Bartolomucci (Politecnico di Milano) and Giovanni Azzone (Politecnico di Milano). Determinants for citizens’ location data sharing with public institutions during a pandemic: the Italian case .

[8350] Zena Wood*† (University of Exeter) and Glen Hart (DSTL). Data Reuse: comparing the principles.

[3945] Trishi Jindal* (NLSIU Bangalore) and Srijoni Sen (NLSIU Bangalore). What’s a Record got to do with it?: Re-situating records management within Indian public data governance and policy.

[4616] Olumurejiwa Fatunde* (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and Patrick Brock (UNHCR). Using automated text analysis to understand downstream usage of UNHCR operational data.

00:35 (10th) UTC

01:35 (10th) Brussels Time

08:35 (10th) Hong Kong Time

16:35 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 360

16:35 – 17:25

Session 4: Standard Track 6 ‘Data to Tackle Global Issues and Dynamic Societal Threats’ Panel

Leveraging Data to Set Objectives and Make Decision: What Can We Learn from Impact Assessments?  The Experience from IFAD.

Moderator: Richard Caldwell (Senior Program Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

More Information
 

Panel abstract on Zenodo

[7009a] Sara Savastano † (International Fund for Agricultural Development). Going from Project to Corporate Level Impact Assessments. IFAD’s Experience

[7009b] Athur Mabiso* (International Fund for Agricultural Development).  Investing in Value Chain for Rural Transformation

[7009c] Carlo Azzarri* (International Food Policy Research Institute). Women’s Empowerment for Rural Transformation

[7009d] Sinafikeh Gemessa* (International Fund for Agricultural Development). Investing towards Sustainable Carbon Neutral Livestock Development

01:30 (10th) UTC

02:30 (10th) Brussels Time

09:30 (10th) Hong Kong Time

17:30 Seattle Time

Room: PAR 320

17:30 – 18:30 Networking reception

More Information
 
0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop